The First Rep is Harder than the Last

I’m really not sure I feel like being in here today, I thought to myself on Tuesday as I walked into the weight room. I’m upset at X, Y, and Z; motivation factor equals zero right now. What am I doing?

 

It was one of those days that followed what seemed to have been a small series of unfortunate events, nothing of great despair, but vexing nonetheless.

 

Just get on the bike and start from there. At least you’ll get some blood flowing, and you can always use some therapy exercise on your knees whenever you get the chance . . . plus, March Madness is on to help distract you . . . Okay, okay, give it twenty minutes and if you’re still feeling down, you can leave.

 

One hour later I walked out of the weight room, having done a solid glut and core workout, only to run into my friend who asked if I wanted to join her for an Insanity workout (which led a double dose of lower-body workouts for the day #noregrets). After that, and a short bouldering session that resulted in foward progress on my project, I went home to eat second dinner #lentilswerentenough.

 

Everyone, and I mean everyone (including us fitness junkies) experience lack of motivation at times. Sometimes, it’s not a bad thing to take an evening to yourself and let your mind relax. If you have a goal in mind though, sometimes it’s necessary to push through the mind ditch. In these times, the hardest part is simply beginning your workout. Soon enough though you find solace, and even tranquility, in whatever it is your doing. You find your focus shifting away from your worries and on to solving a boulder problem, your breathing pattern as you run, or getting in one more rep when you feel the burn of the lactic acid build up in your muscles.

 

I wish I could say there is a magical formula that gives you the answer whenever you step into a metal pothole. The thing is, formulas are a standard, whose steps to providing an answer are constant. As humans we are unique, and what motivates one person is often not going to serve the same purpose for another. However, this is where having a goal, a concrete and individual goal (one that is easy to picture in your mind) can serve as the deciding factor between getting on the wall, or walking away. Maybe that goal is external – interviewing for a job, completing a marathon, your family, hiking your first 14er, your next encounter with a certain someone, or your friend asking you to be in his or her wedding party; or it may be internal, simply for the purpose of feeling better or elevating self-confidence.

 

. . . plus, March Madness is on to help distract you. Come on, know why you’re really in here; use that to at least get you going, then remind yourself of everything else you’re looking foward to that’s coming up, and that it will be here faster than you know it. Okay, okay . . .

 

Just know that whatever is motivating you is going to be worth it in the end, whether that end be your goal, or just the ability to live without complications when you’re old. Since last summer, I’ve spent a lot of time volunteering in physical therapy settings. I’m currently spending some time with in-patient, and something it has made me realize is that I take being able to live a normal, functional life for granted most days. By this I mean simple movements of bending over to pick something up and move it, standing up, getting out of bed, or even just walking. If nothing else, it’s something to think about.

 

I’m going to feel that tomorrow, but it will be a rest day well-earned . . . ooohhhhh I get to sleep now. . .

Leave a Reply

