Transition Talk

Whether you go from a slab hugger to a bouldering fool, from the studio to the sciences, a sedentary life to an active life, or from city to…well, bigger city, there’s this place that no one is too fond of, but that we all encounter. It’s called transition. It’s been the story of my life for the past two years, and then some.

 

With every transition in life we face, it’s imperative that we prepare our minds for any and all inevitable sacrifices that are to be made. To transition from one way of knowing things and thinking to another means that changes will happen, and you have to be ready to embrace those changes, otherwise you will not succeed in making the transition. In all honesty the only transition that I found myself going through that has not caused me any grief is choosing bouldering over sport climbing. It was a conscious choice a long time ago, and I’ll sheepishly admit that it was for a guy #totalgirlmove. As it turned out, I still favor bouldering, and continue to pursue it.

 

Unfortunately I haven’t been as fortunate with all my transitions being that easy to adapt to. In dealing with most transitions, there are a few key things to remember and prepare for. 1) Any transition requires total commitment. It’s the same commitment required to stick a hard deadpoint throw or dyno; the same commitment required to train for a marathon, or even a half; the same commitment it takes to make a relationship work. Half-assing what you do in life isn’t going to get to anywhere. Deciding to pursue physical therapy after having done studio art for three and a half years in my undergraduate career has been one of, if not the most challenging commitments I’ve found myself in, and in my mind the point of no return is long gone. I haven’t decided whether the level at which I’ve committed myself is unhealthy, but if it’s something that I want, I’ll make it happen.

 

2) You must realize that, in order for any transition to be successful, it must take some level of priority. Depending on what it is you are trying to achieve, the priority spot may be higher. The challenge comes when other priorities are, for the most part, non-negotiable #coughcoughclimbing. Now, I will admit that I miss how literally active my body was in making a piece of artwork – like, throwing myself against the wall active. The flip side of my new schedule? Study material goes where I go 🙂 Once again, my friend Sarah Williams, author of Climbing (Miss)adventures (http://skladventures.wordpress.com), has rubbed off on me.

Multi-tasking at its finest.

Top: Multi-tasking at its finest. Bottom: 3 attempt send #heelhook #ftw

Take one thing that’s important, take another thing that’s important, combine them, and you’ll either get either weird looks or “oh, I thought you were logging your climbs…but that’s cool too!” #climbingproblems. Nights when you send well are really good motivators by the way when “stimbing” (studying + climbing), and given the longer rest periods, this works really well with bouldering, and even better when you’re doing circuits.

 

3) Transitions aren’t always bad. They can just make you super apprehensive. When you see something you want, and make up your mind to go for it, well…go for it. A jump from one ledge to another won’t get you over the crag if you hesitate in that part of the jump when momentum is too great to stop #dirtlevel. I will say though, do make sure you have your bearings before taking that leap. As I stated earlier, it’s a commitment.

 

Always at the grind,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

