Welcome, 2015

I just got done with a late session at Summit Dallas. I’ve got one week left of my holiday break before I return to my studies. Normally I’m not one to make any serious resolutions for the new year, but Climbing (Miss)Adventures shot me a text asking if I had any. I already train on a regular basis and I eat healthy, so those “goals” are out of the running. But then I thought, “Well, are they?” Why do resolutions have to involve changing something, or trying to add something completely new and foreign to your life? Why not take something that is already consistent, and simply expand or build upon what is already good? For example, say you are a person who doesn’t necessarily talk bad about people, but that’s pretty much where it stops for you. What if you made the resolution to, in addition to continuing to not talk bad about people, paying others compliments, or adding a sense of encouragement to your gossip-less tongue? New Year’s resolutions don’t have to be extravagant. Sometimes the simplest alterations make a huge difference. If you work out and are active, but it’s sporadic, make it your goal to make a more regular schedule of your gym sessions. Make certain days set in stone. Of course allow to life to happen when it does, but set aside 1-1.5 hours either Mon/Wed/Fri or Tue/Thur/Sun, that way if you happen to get miss a day for whatever reason, you already have your next workout scheduled, and you haven’t suddenly not gone to the gym in four weeks.

 

One of my resolutions this year is to be more okay with asking for help, especially when life gets disorganized. Not only to willingly asking for help, but doing so the moment I think I need it. The longer you let life get out of sync, the more control you’ll lose, and the harder it is to get it back. For me this mainly applies to the classroom. When my back issues starting becoming a huge interference during studying, I did the wrong thing by not going to my professors early on, and in doing so made some aspects of the semester that much harder to handle. But I’ve had issues for a while about letting my guard down as a whole, showing any form of vulnerability. As I’ve felt some of my confidence about myself return however, I’m becoming more okay with letting others assist me.

 

My second resolution (and it may even be more of a continuation of the first) is to not overload myself. That was another thing that I should have swallowed some pride on. It happened sometime during my undergrad years at Baylor that I made it my intention to fill every waking second of the day with something to keep me busy. At the time it was a distraction from other things, but it became a habit, and now I find that sometimes the saying “my eyes are bigger than my stomach” is a good description of how I was and have been treating my daily schedule.

 

My third and final resolution is to be more intentional and efficient with my actions, primarily with climbing and school. I spent long hours with material from one class last semester (having to get up because of back pain and sciatica definitely would prolong some of those sessions), but to increase the efficiency will increase the amount of material covered and/or how well the information is understood and retained. At the gym, if I’m not intentional about what I’m there to do, it doesn’t happen. If it’s my intention to climb harder things, I have to try harder things. I don’t break the next higher V-grade by only ever climbing easier problems.

 

2014-12-31 15.57.42

 

I don’t like looking at the aspects of my life an individual entities. Rather, I like to think of how each affects the others in turn. For each person it’s different, but for many of us it comes down to having something, at least one thing, in your life that makes you truly happy. For me it’s climbing. I noticed a remarkable difference in my everyday behaviors when I am climbing consistently versus when I’m not. The reason for this is that, whatever this aspect of your life may be, it’s meditating. At this point, climbing not only just keeps me in shape, but because it involves problem solving, it also provides a mental distraction from the stresses of life. Though each entity works together, it becomes easier to identify which one needs a certain fine-tuning when you have that consistent outlet. If you don’t have an outlet, make it your new years resolution to figure out that unique outlet. Maybe it’s gardening, taking an evening walk, watercolor painting, journaling, or something as simple as working a jigsaw puzzle. Again, it doesn’t have to be big. It just needs to be something that, no matter what, gives you some sense of control.

 

I hope everyone had a wonderful 2014. May it rest in peace, may its golden moments stay golden and not forgotten. Happy new year to all.

2014-12-31 11.10.13

Leave a Reply

