And Then I Went to PT School

Okay wow.

I’m taking a little break to write a quickie to sum up what’s happened in the last couple weeks.

May 24, 2016 2:13 PM – Dr. Barbara Sanders calls and offers me an open spot in the Doctorate of Physical Therapy program at Texas State University.

2:14 PM – I accepted the offer.

May 25 – 29, 2016 – Found an apartment, bought a lot of textbooks, made a lot of phone calls and received a lot of emails, registered for classes, submitted financial aid, packed a lot of boxes, said some unexpected goodbyes to some of my closest friends.

May 27 – Moved to San Marcos with help of Dad, and greeted by a handful of amazing classmates who responded to my distress call and helped me move my crap up three flights of stairs.

FullSizeRender

June 2-3 – DPT orientation. Mom flies in for second round of aid to help stock the apartment #parentsarelifesaversandtimesavers

IMG_0756

June 4 – Had my last alcoholic beverage until next May because I made a stupid bet with my best friend that if I got into PT school on the first try I wouldn’t drink for the entire first year, and she was smart/mean enough to remind me, and I’m unfortunately noble enough to stand by my word.

IMG_0759

June 6 – First day of PT school.

IMG_0776

I’ve been going on the biggest surge of adrenaline I’ve ever experienced since I got that phone call. We’ve been presented with so much, but I’ve also smiled and laughed more in the last few days than I ever would have thought. Today we had our first patient skills lab, and coming from an ex-art student, someone who thoroughly enjoys working with the hands, I can tell that this is going to be an awesome three years.

FullSizeRender-2

Leave a Reply

